Keeping the Creative Spirit Alive

It’s not by accident I imply that my Creative Spirit has a life of it’s own. Keeping my creativity nourished while I tend to the non-creative parts of my life is a daily challenge. Each month I spend about a week’s worth of seemingly endless days on business administration, advertising, writing class outlines, editing photos, website management… the list can go on but I’ll spare you. This was one of those weeks that I stared longingly at my torch over and over, while ideas raced through my mind, begging to be created. All were in danger of being squashed by a tall brick wall of deadlines.

When the inspiration is there, the ideas are formed, the intent is overflowing, but making art isn’t top priority or the time just isn’t there… how does one prevent the Creative Spirit from dying a slow and painful death? Mine stays most healthy when I carry it throughout all parts of my life. Applying my creativity to being a mother to my two boys is much more natural than applying it to implementing marketing strategies or keeping my business books in order. The most creative part of book keeping for me is my handmade checkbook cover and the doodles in the margins of my register book, undeniable evidence of the number of times I drift off while crunching numbers. My accountant’s going to love that!

Living life in an artful manner is the key to keeping my inspirations alive long enough to make them a reality. This can mean different things to different people. It all depends on what moves you. When I’m shuttling kids around and running errands I always have my iPod, loaded with music that gets the boys and I singing and groovin. As a photographer, in a former life, I learned to always pay attention to the natural light and my surroundings for the perfect image. I’m always on the lookout for imagery to apply to my next torch session. I try to fill my life, my wardrobe, and my jewelry box with artful objects and colors that inspire me. An added positive is that I get to support other artists through my purchases. Lastly, I’m amazingly lucky to have so many friends in my life who work as glass artists, metalsmiths, graphic designers, textile artists, painters, musicians, and even writers. Chatting on the phone or online about your art, attending classes and conferences, or getting together for impromptu collaboration play dates can literally spark bonfires of creativity and friendship among artists.

We all have time that we need to step away from the studio and tend to the everyday necessities of life and business. If during these times we fail to provide them with nourishment, they can mature and then fade away to nothing. Saturate your life with things that inspire your Creative Spirit and it will not only keep it alive, it will feed it, and help it grow into amazing things.

2 Responses to Keeping the Creative Spirit Alive

  1. leah says:

    i so agree. it’s important to find that creative spirit in whatever we do!

  2. smgdesigns says:

    I needed to read this Lauren! Thanks for posting. My creativity has been close to nil lately and I am just now finding my way back to the light!

Leave a Reply

